top of page

THE ULTIMATE DECISION

Since I was a little girl, serving a mission sounded like the best thing ever. I always loved having the missionaries over for dinner and the desire to serve always seemed to be a part of my future as I grew up.

I was a junior in high school when President Monson announced the change of the missionary ages in the October 2012 General Conference. Before this time young men couldn't serve until age 19 and young women couldn't serve until age 21. Now young men can serve at age 18 as soon as they have graduated from high school and young women can serve at age 19. The age change to me was revelation that serving a mission was definitely something I was supposed to do.

Going into college, I still planned to serve a mission, but after about a month I questioned my decision. I suddenly became very concerned with dating and missionary service floated to the back of my mind. I was consumed with going on dates with as many guys as possible, regardless of their standards. Around this time I received a beautifully-written letter from my grandmother, telling me that it was important to only date young men of the highest calliber and to never let my standards falter. After reading her words I realized that I had compromised what I truly wanted; to serve God and to always follow him.

I spent the next couple of weeks pondering whether or not a mission was really what Heavenly Father wanted me to do. I prayed, fasted and read my patriarchal blessing. As I thought again about missionary service, the same excitement returned and my desire to serve grew until I could no longer contain it.

On October 29, 2014, I met with my bishop to start my mission papers. Since then I have been filled with such excitement and gratitude to God for blessing me with people in my life that have taught me to keep my standards high and to listen to the promptings of the Holy Ghost. I am so excited to serve a mission!

While I know that a mission is the right decision for me, however, not every person is meant to serve a mission. The prophets have called "every worthy, able young man" to serve a mission. Sisters do not have the same priesthood responsibility to serve, but are still welcomed in their service.

Since the age change for missionaries, I have noticed a flood of sisters submitting their mission papers and entering the field. It is absolutely wonderful, but it also worries me sometimes. Especially after being at BYU for almost a year, I fear that many young women feel a tremendous pressure to serve, otherwise they are not as righteous or worthy. This is so untrue!

I visited my grandparents a few weeks ago and my grandmother told me a story about a stake conference she attended. A general authority was seated upon the stand as a young woman preparing to serve a mission spoke of her desire and excitement to serve and bore her testimony of the gospel. After she sat down, the general authority commended her for her testimony and said, "To all of you sisters that are preparing to serve missions, I want you know that you are righteous daughters of God and that he loves you." He then added, "To all of you sisters that have testimonies but do not plan to serve missions, I want you know that you are righteous daughters of God and that he loves you."

I truly have a testimony that there are many ways to be a righteous person. Many young women serve missions, strengthen their testimonies, and change lives. Many young women get married, strengthen their testimonies, and change lives. Many young women receive an education, begin a successful career, strengthen their testimonies, and change lives. Whatever your calling is in life, if you are trying to follow God and his plan for you, you will blessed, no matter how you decide to serve him.

Picture taken from https://missionary.lds.org/dress-grooming/sister/grooming/?lang=eng

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page